Mitchell County Post Offices

116 W 3rd St
Colorado City, Texas 79512

118 S Main St
Loraine, Texas 79532

306 N Main St
Westbrook, Texas 79565

Mitchell County

There are 3 US Post Offices in Mitchell County serving a total of 9,432 residents equating to 3,144 residents per post office. It's estimated that approximately 15,055 packages are handled across the 3 county post offices annually. Mitchell County is a county in the U.S. state of Texas. As of the 2010 census, its population was 9,403. Its county seat is Colorado City. The county was created in 1876 and organized in 1881. It is named for Asa Mitchell and Eli Mitchell, two early settlers and soldiers in the Texas Revolution. From 1921 to 1925, the Democrat Richard M. Chitwood of Sweetwater, represented Mitchell County in the state House. He left his post to become the first business manager of Texas Tech University, for which he had worked to establish in Sweetwater until the Lubbock site was chosen. He died in 1926 after a year as the business manager."