Socorro County Post Offices

Sponsored Listings:

1002 S Highway 116
Bosque, New Mexico 87006

1468 S Highway 55
Claunch, New Mexico 87011

8 Highway 304
La Joya, New Mexico 87028

5 Chambon Rd
Lemitar, New Mexico 87823

100 E 1st St
Magdalena, New Mexico 87825

15 Correo St
Polvadera, New Mexico 87828

161 Macedonia Rd
San Acacia, New Mexico 87831

65a Highway 380
San Antonio, New Mexico 87832

124 Plaza St
Socorro, New Mexico 87801

1351 Highway 304
Veguita, New Mexico 87062

Socorro County

There are 10 US Post Offices in Socorro County serving a total of 18,129 residents equating to 1,813 residents per post office. It's estimated that approximately 28,936 packages are handled across the 10 county post offices annually. Socorro County is a county located in the U.S. state of New Mexico. As of the 2010 census, the population was 17,866. The county seat is Socorro. The county was formed in 1852 as one of the original nine counties of New Mexico Territory. Socorro was originally the name given to a Native American village (see: Puebloan peoples) by Don Juan de O\u00f1ate in 1598. Having received vitally needed food and assistance from the native population, O\u00f1ate named the pueblo Socorro (\"succor\" in English). Socorro County is home to multiple scientific research institutions including New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, the National Radio Astronomy Observatory and its associated Very Large Array, the Magdalena Ridge Observatory, and the Langmuir Laboratory for Atmospheric Research. Federal public lands in Socorro County include parts of the Cibola National Forest, the Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge, the Sevilleta National Wildlife Refuge, the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Socorro Field Office, parts of the Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument, and parts of the El Camino Real de Tierra Adentro National Historic Trail."