Pemiscot County Post Offices

120 S Main St
Bragg City, Missouri 63827

2064 State Highway Z
Braggadocio, Missouri 63826

300 Carleton Ave
Caruthersville, Missouri 63830

102 Main St
Cooter, Missouri 63839

6296 State Highway J
Deering, Missouri 63840

607 E Washington St
Hayti, Missouri 63851

208 Walnut St
Holland, Missouri 63853

301 S 1st St
Steele, Missouri 63877

115 W Broad St
Wardell, Missouri 63879

Pemiscot County

There are 9 US Post Offices in Pemiscot County serving a total of 17,673 residents equating to 1,964 residents per post office. It's estimated that approximately 28,208 packages are handled across the 9 county post offices annually. Pemiscot County is a county located in the southeastern corner in the Bootheel in the U.S. state of Missouri. As of the 2010 census, the population was 18,296. The largest city and county seat is Caruthersville. The county was officially organized on February 19, 1851, and is named for the local bayou, taken from the Fox dialect word, pem-eskaw, meaning \"liquid mud\". Bordering the Mississippi River and floodplain, the county has been devoted to agricultural development and commodity crops. With mechanization of agriculture, its population has declined since a peak in 1940. Murphy Mound Archeological Site has one of the largest platform mounds in Missouri; it is a major earthwork of the Late Mississippian culture, which had settlement sites throughout the Mississippi Valley and tributaries. The site is privately owned and is not open to the public. The site may have been occupied from as early as 1200 CE and continuing to about 1541.