Lee County Post Offices

301 Main St
Beattyville, Kentucky 41311

92 Highway 2016
Saint Helens, Kentucky 41368

73 Zoe Post Office Rd
Zoe, Kentucky 41397

Lee County

There are 3 US Post Offices in Lee County serving a total of 7,602 residents equating to 2,534 residents per post office. It's estimated that approximately 12,134 packages are handled across the 3 county post offices annually. Lee County is a county located in the U.S. state of Kentucky. As of the 2010 census, the population was 7,887. Its county seat is Beattyville. The county was formed in 1870 from parts of Breathitt, Estill, Owsley and Wolfe counties. The county was named for Confederate general Robert E. Lee. The town of Proctor, named for the Reverend Joseph Proctor, was the first county seat. The first court was held on April 25, 1870 in the Old Howerton House. The local economy at the time included coal mining, salt gathering, timber operations, and various commercial operations. It featured a post office from 1843 until 1918. The current county seat, Beattyville, was first known as Taylor's Landing. It was renamed to Beatty in 1850 after early settler Samuel Beatty. The town incorporated in 1872 as Beattyville and became the new county seat due to its location along the Kentucky River. Although Lee County contained taverns in the 19th century, it is currently a prohibition or dry county.