Dare County Post Offices

41196 Nc Highway 12
Avon, North Carolina 27915

48042 Nc Highway 12
Buxton, North Carolina 27920

53590 Nc Highway 12
Frisco, North Carolina 27936

57689 Nc Highway 12
Hatteras, North Carolina 27943

302 S Croatan Hwy
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina 27948

3841 N Croatan Hwy
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina 27949

6941 Us Highway 64
Manns Harbor, North Carolina 27953

212b Us Highway 64 and 264
Manteo, North Carolina 27954

100 Deering St
Nags Head, North Carolina 27959

25969 Nc Highway 12
Rodanthe, North Carolina 27968

3525 Mill Landing Rd
Wanchese, North Carolina 27981

Dare County

There are 11 US Post Offices in Dare County serving a total of 33,369 residents equating to 3,034 residents per post office. It's estimated that approximately 53,261 packages are handled across the 11 county post offices annually. Dare County is the easternmost county in the U.S. state of North Carolina. As of the 2010 census, the population was 33,920. Its county seat is Manteo. The county is named after Virginia Dare, the first child born in the Americas to English parents, who was born in what is now Dare County. Dare County is included in the Kill Devil Hills, NC Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Virginia Beach-Norfolk, VA-NC Combined Statistical Area. At one time, the now-abandoned town of Buffalo City was the largest community in the county. Because it includes much of Pamlico Sound, Dare County is the largest county in North Carolina by total area, although if one were to consider land area only, it drops down to 68th in size among the state's 100 counties. This is because, according to the Census Bureau's 2010 statistics, only 24.54% of its area is land, the lowest percentage of all counties in the state. Robeson County is the largest county in North Carolina by land area only."