Monroe County Post Offices

104 Benton Ave W
Albia, Iowa 52531

1712 S E Ave
Lovilia, Iowa 50150

103 Erin Ave
Melrose, Iowa 52569

Monroe County

There are 3 US Post Offices in Monroe County serving a total of 7,570 residents equating to 2,523 residents per post office. It's estimated that approximately 12,083 packages are handled across the 3 county post offices annually. Monroe County is a county located in the south central part of the U.S. state of Iowa. In the early 20th century, it was a center of bituminous coal mining and in 1910 had a population of more than 25,000. As mining declined, people moved elsewhere for work. In the 2010 census, the population was 7,970. The county seat is Albia. The county was named for James Monroe, fifth President of the United States."